A letter by the Ministry of Education was published in the Straits Times Forums today. It was meant to clarify what are the recognised local and foreign universities and what are not. Apparently, UniSIM is recognised as one of the 4 universities as mentioned in the letter by Perry Lim, Director of Higher Education. If that’s the case, what’s all the talk about Singapore coming up with a 4th university as mentioned so often by our ministers? Shouldn’t it then by our 5th university?

Or is it that UniSIM is not recognised at all and is just put there to silence out all the cries for recognition? Sorry about all these conspiracy theories, but I can’t stand it when groups of people start contradicting each other when they are supposedly from the same employer (i.e. public service?).

Which has university status and which hasn’t
THERE have been recent media reports about the establishment of Singapore campuses of foreign universities.

The Ministry of Education (MOE) would like to take this opportunity to clarify that there are four local universities (Nanyang Technological University, National University of Singapore, Singapore Management University and UniSIM). In addition, seven foreign universities have been established here as part of EDB’s Global Schoolhouse programme and they are: Chicago Graduate School of Business, DigiPen Institute of Technology, ESSEC Business School, Insead, New York University’s Tisch School of the Arts, S P Jain Center of Management and University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Together, these institutions provide a wide range of high quality programmes at the undergraduate and postgraduate levels.

Many foreign universities are also offering degree programmes through local agents which are considered by MOE to be private education organisations (PEOs). However, these PEOs do not have university status in Singapore.

Members of the public are welcome to check the type of establishment regime of educational institutions at MOE’s web page, http://www.moe.gov.sg under the heading ‘Education System’. Local universities as well as those foreign universities established as part of EDB’s Global Schoolhouse programme are listed under the ‘Post-Secondary’ sub-heading, while external degree programmes are listed under the ‘Private Schools’ sub-heading.

Perry Lim
Director, Higher Education Ministry of Education

Article obtained from straitstimes.com on 2nd April 2008 – Sun Yat Sen found the Kuomintang Party in Taiwan on this day

Reader's Comments

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: